‘Important’ dates

Time to update my calendar on the next few appointments I’ve got lined up:

June 18th – Second Zometa infusion. I’m trusting God that the side effects won’t be anything like it was the last time.

June 25th – Second Goserelin (Zoladex) implant. I’ve experienced minimal side effects with this except the odd case of hot flushes and jaw pain, I hope it stays that way. I will also be seeing the oncologist at the appointment to discuss how I have been getting on with Femara which I started taking daily a couple of weeks ago. I am yet to notice any side effects from this drug, there’s the occasional joint pain but that could be attributed to any one of the other meds I am on!

July 3rd – I will be back at the voice clinic to assess if there has been any improvements re the paralyzed vocal cord and if the Thyroplasty surgery is still in order. Can I moan for a sec? This voice thing is increasingly getting on my nerves. I dread taking drinks because of the possibility of choking on them. I hate phone calls especially with strangers cos of the need to repeat myself over and over again. My loved ones have told me the voice is a bit better but I guess that’s all relative. I wasn’t a great singer before but I can’t even manage to hold a tune any more as it’s pretty impossible without a functioning voice box! I say all that to say, I’m dreading the idea of another surgery but I can’t wait to get it over with.

August 14th – I would have been on all the treatments for a good few weeks and this scan is to assess how well the tumours are responding to the treatments. Best case scenario would be for all the tumours to have shrunk and pretty much disappeared and for my organs to remain clear. The next best case scenario would be for the cancer to be stable which means no new spots in my bones or any where else even if there’s no significant reduction in size. Those are the only two options I choose to consider.

October 8th – tentative date for the Thyroplasty surgery. Sorry guys, you’d have to enjoy the new ‘soft spoken’ moi for a few more months 🙂

Think that’s about it for now 🙂

One thought on “‘Important’ dates

Leave a Reply

