…come work with us!

It’s been a busy few days and I haven’t even visited my blog since my last post which is so unlike me. A lot has happened since I last updated the blog. I’ve had my second goserelin implant; that means I don’t have to think about the injection for another three months – yay! I’ve had a second appointment at the voice clinic and the left vocal cord is still paralyzed which means the surgery booked in for October is still on course.  Nothing is changed on the aches and pains side of things. Night sweats have reduced – happy dance! That’s about it from the health side of things. Now to more interesting things 🙂

Guess what I have decided to do?! Yup, you guessed right – i’m going back to work! I had a job offer last year that I had to turn down twice last year because of different reasons. The last time I turned it down, they informed me they were putting recruitment for the role on hold because of the issues in the Oil and Gas industry. I was told to get back in touch when I’m ready to resume job hunting. I decided last month that it would be great to go back to work. I sent an email to the company to let them know I was back in the job market and it so happened the job was still available! A couple of interviews later (I met with 8 people from the company at different times!), I just received an email today that they would love for me to come work with them! I’m super excited at the prospect of having something else to pour my energy into.

Would it be challenging? You bet it will! Am I doing the right thing? I sure hope so. I’m going into this job thinking, if it gets too much for me then I will resign. Life’s too short to put up with a crappy job! However, I recall how my Masters program was the best thing I could have done whilst going through treatment for the primary diagnosis. Well, I’m hoping this job serves the same purpose. Similar to what I did during my Masters, I don’t intend on disclosing the details of my medical situation to anyone at the office. It’s important to me that I am not treated any differently cos of my medical situation. As such, I’m hoping the hours I spend at work will focus on me being a great Project Manager not someone with stage IV breast cancer.

Okay, there you go, a quick update on what I’ve been up to. I have to go now as I have a job offer to accept 🙂 Wish me luck!

Leave a Reply

