Spanner in the works

I’ve been in a pretty good mood in the last few days with securing a job and planning my daughter’s first birthday. I figured I would get on with my life as normal as possible and only get interrupted by the odd appointments here and there. I convinced myself on how feasible my plan was and even went ahead to get a job that would involve me going to an office a few hours every day. In my head, I had a plan and everything was going great with this plan until Friday morning.

I had my third Zometa infusion on Thursday and I had very minimal side effects, almost to the point of it being negligible. I realized if I kept on top of my pain meds and fluid intake, it never has to be as bad as it was the first time around. That filled me great hope for the months to come as the Zometa was the most likely treatment to interfere with my routine once I started the job. I went to bed on Thursday night feeling good about how things were finally falling in place and how this ‘normal’ I’m having to get used to isn’t as crazy as it could be.

I woke up on Friday with a rather strange ankle pain and I didn’t think much of it. I assumed a combination of too much driving and standing might have caused it and potentially this was made worse by the Zometa treatment. I assumed that as with other side effects from the treatment, it was likely to pass between 24 and 48 hours. So imagine my shock when the pain kept me up till 1am last night and even when I managed to fall asleep, the pain kept interrupting my sleep. I woke up this morning very frustrated with the situation. I have no idea what’s happening with the ankle, it’s super painful and the meds I’m taking isn’t helping. My hubby got me an ankle support which is helping a bit but I can’t shake the feeling of frustration. I did a bit of reading and it appears Zoladex (Femara) could cause really bad ankle pain. I read about people who had to stop the treatment because the pain was unbearable.

I don’t even want to start thinking about that possibility as I believe, the treatment plan I’m on is probably my best option at this time. I have the CT scan next month that would check how the tumours are responding to the treatment and the best case scenario would be for the tumours to have shrunk significantly. If that’s the case, then I will stay on this treatment for as long as it’s working. This is why this ankle pain is throwing a spanner in the works.

I just got a call back from one of the breast cancer nurses at the clinic and she confirmed my fears that the pain is probably linked to either the goserelin or the letrozole. She advised I rest the ankle as much as possible and to call back if the pain doesn’t get better in the next couple of days.

I’m pretty upset with the whole situation cos I feel all my plans and efforts at being positive and forging ahead keeps getting frustrated by things like this. I’m officially on bed/ankle rest for the next few days and I’m crossing everything that the pain subsides soon as I do not have the energy to consider any other possibility 😦

Leave a Reply

