Update!

I can’t believe how long it’s been since my last update! I’ve always been bad with procrastinating and sadly, I’m just as bad when it comes to updating the blog. In fairness, it’s been a busy few weeks and I’m probably just getting round to a down time in a while.

So…what have I been up to?

HEALTH

Health is always a big one and I am so happy to say I feel well today. Sadly, this hasn’t been the case for the most part since my discharge from the hospital. I have dealt with all sorts from mouth sores and recurring fevers to pain from the inserted chest tube and general feeling of unwell. None of them were big enough to be issues in themselves but they were enough to make me feel miserable and cry myself to sleep on many occasions.

Days such as today when I feel mostly well are very much cherished. My prayer as we get ready for 2016 is that I will have a lot more good days (talking huge percentage here) than bad.

ROAD TRIP

My last post was about my disappointment at finding out we won’t be able to fly to Florida as previously planned. I know I’ve mentioned it a few times but I am blessed with the most amazing husband and it still shocks me the extent he would go to put a smile on my face. He knew I really wanted a sunny break and unfortunately, the closest sunny cities to us were in California and Arizona. To be completely honest, I wasn’t keen on the trip. I couldn’t imagine driving more than 2,500km (1,500 miles) each way and spending over 50 hours in a car over 8 days. And coupled with that, I had so many fears and worries.

I was worried about what would happen if I took ill whilst we are in the States. It’s one thing to be able to get on a plane and know we’d be home in a few hours but it’s another thing to know we had thousands of miles to drive in an emergency. Second was travelling with our 15 month old. She’s always been a great child but I would expect an angel to act out if subjected to such a trip! Lastly, I didn’t expect I would be able to do a lot of driving or that my husband would allow me to so in essence, that means my husband would be doing the bulk of the driving and that was just insane!

I raised each of my concerns with my husband and he came up with a reason it won’t hold us back. He reminded me that all my emergency hospital trips have been linked to the pleural fluid build up/catheter insertion. The pain from the catheter had become manageable and the nurses had shown him how to drain the fluid. Based on this, we prayed that having to go an hospital whilst we are aware won’t come up. Next was a plan for the lil one, we decided to get a small tablet and download a few baby programs on it (yes, we are terrible parents!) to keep her entertained during the trip. My last concern wasn’t taken too seriously as you can expect.

After a lot of back and forth, we decided on San Diego the night before we were due to travel! The journey turned out to be even longer than we had anticipated but it was totally worth it. We had such a great time away and we stopped in whatever city we got tired. We ended up spending a night in Montana, a night in Idaho falls, two nights in Las Vegas and four nights in San Diego! It was nice for the three of us to spend some alone time together, probably the first since we found out about the recurrence.

Special shout outs to my husband and lil one:

My poor husband drove for almost 50 hours in all, he drove every one of those hours without complaining! I kept saying how sorry I was that we couldn’t fly and he told me not to be silly 🙂 The best part is, I know he would do it again in a second if it means it would make me happy and put a smile on my face! I feel so incredibly blessed to have such a selfless, caring, loving, amazingly incredible person to walk this path with!

Our lil one was pretty amazing the entire time! Remember when I said we couldn’t expect an angel to put up with such a long journey? Well, she’s an angel and a whole lot more. She probably cried for less than an hour the entire time we were away. She had so much energy and was super happy the whole time. I still hear the ‘crazy’ laughter she does each time we got into our hotel at night. She hops all over whilst laughing hysterically; we couldn’t love or be proud of her anymore! She fills her hearts with so much laughter and happiness and she’s the best thing that has ever happened to us. I am reminded of God’s love for me every time I look at her!

We got back last night and were back at work today (yeah, not the best idea!) but I still smile thinking about all the memories we made on the trip and I think those memories will keep me going till our next trip. Hopefully, it won’t be too long and I will be cleared to fly again by then!

I had some time to reflect in the last few days and I was reminded of how blessed I am. My health might not be the best it could be (it’s work in progress and it will get there) but I am surrounded by such love from my family and friends and I choose to focus on the blessings in my life.

One thought on “Update!

Leave a Reply

