10:23pm on NYE.

One of the perks of living in Calgary is that most of the world get to experience the first few hours of a new year before you do. The reason I call it a perk is that it gives you a few more hours to reflect on the year coming to an end and to think about your hopes and dreams for the new year.

I recall how excited I was at this time last year. I was in an incredibly good place in my life. I was going to be a 5 year cancer survivor in less than a month which meant my chances of having a recurrence where much lower. I was married to the love of my life. We had our beautiful 4 month old daughter who we loved more than anything else in the world. We had moved to a new country we could see being our home forever. We were in the process of buying our first home. Hubby had settled in at work and was loving it. I had a job offer even though I wasn’t ready to go back to work just yet. We were going back to the UK for a visit in just a month and I was excited about our family and friends finally getting to meet our beautiful daughter. Without a shadow of doubt, 2014 was a great year and definitely my best year ever!

2015 started with so much promise; I was looking forward to watching our daughter grow, moving into our new home and a few other things. The first quarter of the year was great and I couldn’t be happier. All that changed in April when I learnt the cancer was back. The eight months since then have been the most trying time of my life. I’ve had so many lows and shed so much tears. I have so many things to be grateful for but the cancer diagnosis isn’t one of them.

I’ve had to work extra hard to stay happy because I could easily be overwhelmed by all the health challenges. I learnt a while back to always find the one thing great in my life and to focus on that even when everything around me is falling. Truth is, I have so many great things in my life and I am incredibly grateful for the many blessings in my life. However, the weight of living with Stage IV cancer and it’s treatment is sometimes way too heavy for me to be able to maintain my positive outlook on life. In those times, I break down and I beg God for the strength I need to continue.

I’ve had a few hours to reflect on 2015 and to pray regarding my hopes and dreams for 2016. The one thing I want above everything else is for complete healing for myself and good health for my husband, daughter and family. I want to look back on 2015 in a year’s time and be filled with so much gratitude for how far God has brought me. I want to laugh harder than I have ever laughed in my life. I want the love in our family to get even stronger. I pray that God will take care of my hubby and our daughter as they are my strength. I pray for all our friends and family who have stood by us that all their dreams will come true in 2016. God knows everyone of my heart desires and I pray he would grant them all.

2015 has been a very trying year but I am not one to dwell on the negatives! So looking forward, here’s to a great 2016 filled with answered prayers, good health, love, laughter and dreams come true!

I LOVE YOU ALL SO MUCH. THANKS FOR BEING THE BEST SUPPORT SYSTEM ANYONE COULD ASK FOR!!!

HAPPY NEW YEAR TO YOU ALL!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

One thought on “10:23pm on NYE.

Leave a Reply

