Home

My 2.5 year old daughter is at the point where she’s starting to figure out what home is. When we go out these days or when I pick her up from her daycare, she talks about wanting to go home. She misses her ‘bed’ (her fleece sleeping bag), her ‘roon’ aka bedroom and her grandma (who she fondly calls wawa).

We are on holiday at the moment; partly to celebrate the love we share as a family a la St Valentine but also to take a break from life (work, health, treatment) to focus on what’s truly the most important blessing in our lives – each other. But I digress….

Almost as soon as we got out of the airport, Tara kept talking about wanting to go home. We explained to her that we are a long way from home and that we would be spending the next few days in Mexico. What I’ve found interesting and consistent with her request for going home is that, in her beautiful little heart – home is the best place that exists. It doesn’t matter if we take her to Disneyland or the ‘grandest’ hotel in the world, if she has a choice – my darling would always choose to go back to her house.

Thinking about this again tonight filled me with so much joy and it took me back to early ‘courtship’ days with her Dad. I was sharing with him about my childhood and how I didn’t always like going back home when school closed for the holidays (I was in boarding school from grades 7 – 12). Actually, that’s putting it nicely – I actually dreaded going home and would stay back in school till I was literally the last person left on campus.

If you know my husband, you know he is a man of very few words. I will always remember what he told me when we bought our house “I make a promise to you today that this home will always be your safe haven. It doesn’t matter what’s going on out there or what the world throws at you, once you walk through these doors, know that the people that love you the most are here and they will always be rooting for you”. That is one of the best things anyone has ever said to me. But my hubby isn’t one to make empty promises, he has kept that promise every single day since then. I can’t tell you how many times I’m upset and he just says to me’you are home now’ and that means more to me than a thousand words. My mood brightens up and I go back to talking his ears off. Again, I digress.

We talked about sharing this principle with her daughter when she’s older but I realized this evening that we’ve shown her through our actions that home is her happy place. She is wiser beyond her years in that she already knows that it doesn’t matter how much is going on in the world; home is the one place she can count on because the people that love her completely and have her back live there. I love that even in the midst of the craziness that she is sometimes exposed to or the thrills that come from going away on holidays, her heart is never far away from her safe haven; her home! For the first time in a long time, I am convinced we are doing something right with our lil munchkin and I couldn’t be prouder at the independent yet totally loving daughter we are raising.

Happy Valentine’s day to you and yours!

Leave a Reply

