The night before…

I finally just put together a hospital bag. The last time I made a conscious effort to pack an overnight bag for a hospital stay was when I was going in to have my baby – let’s just say the feelings are so much different this time around.

I haven’t spent a lot of time thinking about the surgery and in actual fact, I’ve had a lovely few hours since finding out about the impending surgery. The steroids I was prescribed has really helped with a lot of the pain. The only things I struggle with is the numbness in the foot – it feels so heavy and very sensitive to touch. The other thing is finding a comfortable position in bed. Apart from those, I’ve kept busy and done fun things like spend time with friends and family, done some activities with my lil munchkin, went to Church and attended a lovely piano recital this afternoon.

Now that the day is winding down, my thoughts are shifting to how tomorrow is likely to pan out. We aim to set out for the hospital at 6:45am and hopefully have a chat with the surgeon before he has to go in for his first surgery at 8. I am hoping we get a better idea of what the surgery entails, plan for recovery and putting me under general anesthetics.

I’ve been asked a lot in the last few hours about how I am feeling and I think calmness is the overriding emotion. I am so done with the pain that I’m trying to focus more on the bigger picture post surgery when I’d be able to walk without pain and resume sleeping comfortably in my bed.

I can’t thank every single one of you enough for the outpouring of love. I think that adds to the feel of calm cos I know my daughter and husband will be taken care by so many people if I am not in the position to take care of them whilst I’m recovering. Thank you all so much and I will be in touch as soon as I can via whatever mode is easily accessible.

Love you all xxx

 

aa450e24fd6477c1fdcd6c1232b09f9e

4 thoughts on “The night before…

  1. MumofprincessT'ssiblings

    Love you too dear. ‘Twas nice to see you at the piano recital. xx

    Amen to that prayer. Sending positive thoughts your way 🙂

    See you soon xoxo

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Mayowa

    My prayers are with you dear, the great physician is in control, the Almighty God. He who watches over us neither sleeps nor slumbers …..

    Like

Leave a Reply

