Pain!

One of the ‘perks’ of having cancer is that pain is often never really far away. In my case, I’ve had more than my fair share, actually make that 10x more than my fair share (FYI: 10x is based on no actual scientific data, it’s purely a random number thrown in for effect but you get my drift 🙂 ) I’ve learnt to tolerate most pain and just get on with it using the “I’ve got cancer, guess pain comes with the package” mindset to get through it.

I wrote about how much pain I was in prior to the surgery and afterwards. I got discharged still in a fair bit of pain but I was optimistic I’d start feeling better once the surgery site healed up.

Well it did heal up and the pain from the site was gone in no time. I was pretty excited about this and couldn’t wait to get radiotherapy over with.

This is where things started getting interesting. A couple of days after the surgery, I noticed that the left foot that had been numb and heavy the weeks leading up to the surgery was starting to get some sensations back. That should be good news right? It meant the damaged nerve was trying to repair itself, what could possibly go wrong?! Well, everything! It turned out that nerve regeneration or whatever was happening in my foot was no child’s play.

It started with the top of my foot being super sensitive to touch like I literally couldn’t  touch it with anything. Thank God its summer as I’m sure I would have made for a sorry sight if I had to get socks and boots on that foot!

Well, what started as a slight hypersensitivity morphed into this massive massive peripheral neuropathic pain. I ran out of adjectives to qualify what was happening but some that come to mind include: “searing, burning,  walking on tiny little pebbles, throbbing, pulsating, electric shock, achy” amongst so many others.

As bad as the pain was, the bit that really got to me was the inability to sleep. Talk about it pouring when it rains. I’m not even kidding right now, I haven’t had a proper sleep in weeks and boy, do I love my sleep?! I could sleep all day every day for a week  prior to this madness starting (maybe I’m exaggerating a teeny bit but I do really love my sleep!).

I spoke to my hubby, cousins, sisters (yes, we have a few medical people in our family), my family doctor and oncologist and they all thought it would be a good idea to get admitted at the hospital so I could get some better pain management.

I could be really stubborn or optimistic (depending on who is assessing the situation) sometimes  and I just thought I could push through (no idea what that even means – it sounds like a load of tosh you psych yourself to believe in cos you don’t like the alternative aka hospital admission).

Yesterday was the point I finally admitted to myself that I needed an intervention. I made an SOS call to my oncologist and typical of him, he set the ball rolling immediately.

At about 7pm tonight,  I was officially back on hospital admission for the 5th time in 2 years but who is counting.

Being back on admission wouldn’t be my first choice but I think it’s the smart thing to do at this point.

We are yet to get the pain under control and I’m obviously not asleep at 2:34am so nothing much has changed in that regard but I’m hopeful tomorrow will be a better day. Oh,typical of me I’ve developed a sensitivity to the med so I’m itching all over. They’ve given me some benadryl to help with that but still scratching away 🙂

Shout out to my dear friends and family who fitted me into their schedules at such short notice  and made the shuttling to the hospital, back home and back to the hospital pretty smooth. Special shout to miss J for lunch, for the company (I know I’m a ball of fun but 6 hours is pushing it haha), for letting me hijack your appointment with our oncologist and for everything in between! Oh, and from stopping me from accidentally buying booze, that would not make for good admitting conversation Hahaha!

I’m hopeful that the next 24 hours will bring some relief and rest.

Good night and God bless!

 

 

 

 

 

5 thoughts on “Pain!

  1. Kathy

    I do hope you get your pain managed and then get yourself back home to enjoy your beautiful deck. You are a trooper and I aspire to have your tenacity when I GROW UP! Hahahaha
    My thoughts and prayers are with you!!!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Laura

    All right you are indeed an inspiration. If anyone with this amount of pain can maintain their humour it is indeed you. Keep that strong my friend as humour and laughter is indeed healing. Hugs and of course our continued prayer is always with you.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

